artistic board

Miklós Csemiczky studied composing at the Béla Bartók Secondary School of Music in Budapest (1973-1977) and at the Ferenc Liszt Academy of Music, Budapest (1977-1982) his masters being Miklós Kocsár, Rezső Sugár and Emil Petrovics.

Since 1983 he has been teaching composition at the Béla Bartók Secondary School of Music in Budapest. Meanwhile he was professor of the faculty of composing at the Teachers’ Training branch of the Budapest Music Academy (1998), at the Faculty of Composing at the Music Academy (1991-92), as well as at the Béla Bartók Conservatory of the University of Miskolc (1992-2012).

He is frequently invited to the juries of International choir and composers’ competitions (Gorizia, Arezzo, Tolosa, Debrecen, Budapest). Between 2002 and 2012 he was member of the Artistic Board of the Béla Bartók International Choir Competition in Debrecen. His composing activity was acknowledged with the Ferenc Erkel Prize (1986) and the Bartók-Pásztory Prize (1996).

Vocal and instrumental music is simultaneously present in the musical career of Csaba Somos. He gained his first diploma as choral conductor at the Music Academy (his masters: Valér Jobbágy, Péter Erdei), followed by the conductor course of the same institution (his masters: Ervin Lukács, Tamás Gál).

In 2002 he founded the Lajos Vass Chamber Choir and has been their artistic director ever since, earning podium places at several international choir competitions. Their latest success in 2014 was at the “Venezia in Musica” international choir competition in Carleole/Venezia where they earned the first prize as well as the Grand Prize.

From 2000 to 2003 he was the chief conductor of the Csokonai Theatre in Debrecen; in 2004 he was appointed as music director of the same theatre. Between 2004 and 2007 he was the music director of the National Theatre in Pécs, and between 2009 and 2013 he was the leading conductor of the Hungarian Radio Chorus. Since 2012 he has served as the Chairman of the Artistic Board of Kóta (The National Committee of the Hungarian Choirs). Since 2013 he has been professor at the Music Academy as well as the conductor of its Alma Mater choir. Since 2016 he has been the chorus master of the Hungarian National Choir.

For more than 20 years he has acted as a guest conductor with several symphonic orchestras, professional choirs home and abroad, furthermore he has often been jury member at competitions and festivals in recent years. He was awarded the Vilmos Rubányi Prize in 2002, and the Liszt Ferenc Prize in 2014.

Máté Szabó Sipos began his musical studies as a pianist, then in 1985 he enrolled at the Ferenc Liszt Academy of Music where he first graduated as a choral conductor and teacher of music and musicology , later in 1995 he received his summa cum laude degree in Ervin Lukács’s class as a conductor.

Since 1994 he has been teaching conductors-to-be at the Hungarian Academy of Music. In 1996 he became the leading conductor of the Symphonic Orchestra of Eger. He has worked with a number of well-known choirs and orchestras home and abroad. Between 2000 and 2003 he was the artistic director and conductor of the Debrecen Kodály Choir. Until 2016 he was the chorus master of the Hungarian State Opera in Budapest. Currently, he is the leading conductor of the Debrecen Kodály Choir and also the musical director of the opera department of the Debrecen Csokonai Theatre.

Ágnes Török (PhD), conductor, is associate professor of the Music Faculty of the Debrecen University. Her subjects are conducting, solfeggio, music theory, Gregorian and plainsong.

She is the founder conductor of the Canticum Novum Chamber Choir (1989). Their name can be associated with several achievements at international choir competitions as well as numerous first performances of Hungarian contemporary composers.From 1999 to 2006 Ágnes Török was the deputy conductor of the professional Debrecen Kodály Chorus, where she was the choirmaster of many oratorios and operas; she directed numerous a’cappella concerts and first performances. In Japan she is the invited conductor of the Toyama Prefecture.